Never Trust A Woman Who Has No Girlfriends

Image
source: http://johngushue.typepad.com/blog/
In 2008, I posted a piece called “Never Marry a Man Who Has No Friends“, which remains one of my top posts here on WordPress. Now, I’d like to follow up with a post about girl-friendless women.

At some point in a woman’s life, she learns that friendships with her girl friends are a saving grace. Romantic relationships come and go, but girlfriends are forever. Friends are our lifelines. In times of self-doubt, they supply us with adamant positive reinforcement. And most of all, girl friends celebrate.

These relationships keep us rolling with life’s punches. When I do something like resume communications with an ex-love interest, it is my girl friends that will listen and remind me of why I stopped communication to begin with, but most of all it won’t get thrown in my face later. They will not judge me or say “oh my god I can’t believe you just started talking with him again so easy, you said he was blacklisted.” I turn to my girl friends for advice, and vice versa. We have shared years and years of our lives.

You don’t expect your family to listen objectively, do you? 😉

Image
source: http://timelessimagesmi.com/celebs4.html
I’ve come across several girl-friendless women in my day. The one trait they all have in common, is low self-confidence. Securing the attention of a man/men is what lifts them out of their funk. To them, Girls night in, out, doesn’t make them feel warm inside. In fact, they see other women as competition. Needless to say, these types of people are not very much fun.

So if you know someone who doesn’t have friends, it’s usually not by chance.

Do you agree?

  My bff and I at my wedding. 15 years strong 

Leave a comment

Comments (

6

)

  1. gold price

    History does not celebrate female friendships, and there is a long standing myth that the greatest friendships have been between men. The male friendship is usually portrayed as the most unselfish and perhaps the highest form of human relationship, while women’s friendships have been devalued and seen as frivolous and superficial (Bell, 1981; Block, 1980; Fasteau, 1991; Rubin, 1985). A group of women friends is not seen as a team of colleagues, but as the “girls” trooping off to gossip, exchange recipes, and talk about trivia of fashion, cooking, or dieting over tea. Studies indicate that many of these stereotypes about women’s friendships still exist.

  2. John

    Not if your friends are fake, not if your friends pull you in directions that hold back your true self because maybe just maybe the cards weren’t dealt in the best order. If you feel romantic relationships come and go then don’t be in one. Have some freaking insight.

    1. MB

      Whoa whoa whoa!
      Dear John,

      “If you feel romantic relationships come and go then don’t be in one. Have some freaking insight.”

      Romantic relationships can most certainly last. Some. If you get lucky. But for the times you don’t, to whom do you turn? Who keeps you going and busy and leveled ? A friend.

      For every happily married couple you see, they most likely were not each others first romantic relationship. A lot of relationships must come and go, especially as a young adult. That’s what dating is all about. 🙂 As long as people are honest with each other, it all works out in the end when you meet Mr./Mrs. Right. Right? 😉

      “Not if your friends are fake, not if your friends pull you in directions that hold back your true self because maybe just maybe the cards weren’t dealt in the best order.”

      If a chick is picking fake friends, that’s her own character flaw. Why does she choose dumb girlfriends is the question you should be asking yourself? Something about those fake people interest her. Maybe she is a glutton for punishment; maybe she’s attracted to morons. But if she’s making bad decisions w/ who she hangs out with, she’s probably not thinking clearly about men either.

  3. Gerry

    I’ve never had a need for a friend. my life doesn’t have room for one. I’m in my early 60’s and have never found anybody who I have enough in common with to be friends and then when I do make friends they usually try to take advantage of me in some way or another and , well, that just isn’t going to happen. Mostly in the form of “they want me there for them , but when I need someone for something they are no where to be found or have some lame excuse as to why they can’t be there for you.” I’m giving to a point , but if I feel I’m being used I’m out of here.

    1. MB

      Gerry,

      I agree, there’s a lot of crappy people out there. Users are so annoying. Sorry you havent met the right kinda friend, but it sounds like you are a very self-sufficient person. All the best.

    2. MB

      Hi Gerry,
      I understand what you mean. The good ones are rare.